1 June 2023

Six students from across the country are recipients of the 2023 scholarships, sponsored by the Canadian Agri-Business Education Foundation.

The $2,500 scholarships are awarded to students entering or currently pursuing an agricultural or agri-food related program at a Canadian college, university or technical institution.

This year’s recipients are:

Sarah MacDonald, Vanderhoof, BC

Erin Hughes, Longview, AB

Wyatt Pavloff, Perdue, SK 

Milan Lukes, Winnipeg, MB

Kyla Lewis, Dorchester, ON

Matthew Bishop, Round Hill, NS

Applicants were assessed on a combination of their leadership attributes, and written or video response to the question “Choose one UN Sustainable Development goal and highlight three ways your future career in agriculture and food will contribute to it.”

“We are proud to support the next generation of agri-food leaders with these scholarships,” says Becky Parker, chair of the board for CABEF. “Each of the six recipients demonstrated impressive determination to support a sustainable future through their upcoming careers. We are confident that they will all make a positive impact on Canadian agriculture as they pursue their passions.”

To obtain a print-friendly image of a scholarship winner, or to obtain a copy of their winning essay, please contact info@cabef.org. For further information about CABEF’s work, visit cabef.org.